Quotes from the witch trials

One of the things I enjoy about the witch trials is the great quotes that come from the documents.  One of my intentions for this blog is to include posts listing some great quotes in between longer, more researched posts so consider this the first of a series.

(Note- the spelling in this series of posts have been corrected for easier reading)

“A false tongue will never make a guilty person.” -Susanna Martin

“You tax me for a wizard, you may as well tax me for a buzzard I have done no harm.” -George Jacobs Sr.

“Satan’s design was to set up his own worship, abolish all the churches in the land, to fall next upon Salem and so go through the country.” -William Barker Sr.

“I never saw the Devil’s book nor knew that he had one.” -Ann Pudeator

“I do not know that the devil goes about in my likeness to do any hurt.” -Sarah Osborne


Rosenthal, Bernard, ed. Records of the Salem Witch-Hunt. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2009.

2 comments on “Quotes from the witch trials

Leave a Reply

